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For use in any game of BATTLE GATE 
 
MAKING A WORLD CARD 
World cards do not cost character points and a game may include any number; feel free to make them however you 
want given the following rules:   
 
A world card may have a name and a power cost and include nearly any rule or rules you can imagine for altering 
gameplay whenever that world card is in play.  The rule(s) established on a world card must fit in one of the two 
large boxes on the card (card diagram below) but they can be anything (including ones that override any of these or 
any other BATTLE GATE rules) so long as they do not contradict those of another world card included in the same 
game in unresolvable ways (e.g. one world card just says ‘Players may only draw one card per turn.’ while another 
just says ‘Players may only draw two cards per turn.’).   
[THIS RULE CANNOT BE OVERRIDEN: World cards cannot make, compel, or ask players to do anything illegal, 

harmful, immoral, or impossible (e.g. something that would contradict the laws of physics).] 
 
Seed suggestions:  Rules that affect just you or certain players, rules that affect everyone, rules that change existing 
game mechanics, rules that introduce new game mechanics, rules that change some other aspect of gameplay, etc. 
 
How to choose a world card’s power cost: 
This value can be any value you want; there are no limits.  Since this is where it gets complicated the following 
describes both rules and how a world card’s power cost affects its playability: 

+ To play a world card from your hand to your play field you need to discard a total power of cards from your 

play field equal to or greater than the power cost of the world card.  Any number of world cards can be played in 
any phase except the combat phase (no world cards may be played during the combat phase) and they do not take 
away from the total number or power of cards you can field for that turn (however when a world card is in your 
hand it still counts as a card in your hand for determining the total power of cards you can play for a turn).   

+ When a world card is put into play its rules immediately take effect.   

+ World cards can both attack and defend with a power equal to their power cost (and this can be boosted by 

playing assassins from your hand during combat) but opponents can also target them for attacks as though they were 
a separate player (i.e. with multiple attackers; you can still assign additional defenders to aid the world card and 
add their power(s) together as per normal defender combat rules).   

+ If a world card is destroyed in combat then instead of going to the discard pile it returns to your hand.   

+ If a world card is discarded as damage from either your deck or your hand (because there are no cards left in 

your deck and you’re taking damage) then it counts as a normal discard and goes to your discard pile.   

+ If a world card is in your discard pile it may be recovered as normal during the recovery phase by one of your 

minions (i.e. it counts as a recovered card). 
 

 
 
HOW TO USE 
Before a player shuffles and cuts their deck to begin a game they may add any number of world cards to it so long 
as all players unanimously agree on each card’s inclusion into the game.  If a world card is cut when determining 
which player goes first then its power cost counts as a power stat.   
 

HAVE FUN!  -Marc Wolff 


